The Indian national flag was hoisted on Mount Everest on May 29, 1953, along with the Union Jack and the Nepalese National flag.


Bhikaji Rustom Cama was the first Indian who raised the flag on foreign soil.

Bhikaji Rustom Cama

The flag of India consists of three equal-sized horizontal stripes.

Horizontal Stripes

The Indian flag was adopted on July 22, 1947, just before India received independence from Britain on August 15, 1947.


The middle stripe at its centre bears the design of an Ashoka Chakra in navy blue colour with 24 equally spaced spokes.

Ashoka Chakra

 During the period of Indian independence, several other designs of Indian flag were used and adopted.

Designs of Indian flag

The first Indian flag  had religious symbols and eight roses on it with Vande Matram written in the middle.

Religious Symbols

 Indian National Flag was designed by Pingali Venkayya who was a freedom fighter from Andhra Pradesh

Pingali Venkayya